🛒 Best Price Today on Amazon
Prime members get fast, free shipping on everything above, plus member-only deals. New members get a 30-day free trial — cancel anytime.
- Top picks at a glance
- What the spec labels on these drives actually mean
- How these listings were chosen and checked
- The ten listings, one by one
- Which listing for which user
- Worked example: how long does a 40 GB copy take?
- Thumb drive or a dedicated external drive
- Mistakes buyers make and how to fix them
- Verdict by use case
- Frequently asked questions
For most buyers in this set, the best USB flash drive is a USB 3.x stick in a metal or sliding-collar body at 64GB or 128GB. The title wording promises faster reads than the USB 2.0 sticks, and the capacity is large enough for installers, photos and game mods without constant juggling. The Lexar D40E pair adds a Type-C option for phones and newer laptops, the SanDisk Ultra Flair pair quotes up to 150MB/s reads, and the PNY Turbo Attaché 3 packs make sense when you hand drives to other people. The two USB 2.0 bulk packs and the 16GB keychain stick are cheap utility storage, which is a different class of product. Ten listings are covered below, with a transfer-time calculation near the end.
Top picks at a glance

Lexar D40E 128GB Dual USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C Jump Drive, Champagne Silver | USB-C Flash, Metal Housing, Swivel Design, Thumb Drive
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
PNY 128GB Turbo Attaché 3 USB 3.0 Flash Drive 2-Pack | Up to 100MB/s Read, Grey, Lightweight, Sliding Collar, Durable, Data Storage and Transfer
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
SANDISK 128GB Ultra Flair, USB-A Flash Drive, Up to 150MB/s Read Speeds | USB Flash Drive, Up to 15x Faster than standard 2.0, Password Protection, Durable, Sleek Metal Casing, USB 3.0, Silver/Black
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
8GB Flash Drive 10 Pack Bulk USB Flash Drives, USB2.0 Thumb Drive USB Stick for Data Storage Backup, Jump Drive Pen Drive Zip Drive Memory Stick with Indicator, USB Storage Flash Drive Swivel Design
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
IMEASON Swivel Design 16GB USB Flash Drive with Keychain, USB 2.0 Portable Thumb Drive Memory Stick, FAT32 Format Flashdrive for Data Storage, Photos, Music, Files (Black, 16 GB)
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
Lexar D40E 64GB Dual USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C Jump Drive, Champagne Silver | USB-C Flash, Metal Housing, Swivel Design, Thumb Drive
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
SANDISK 64GB Ultra Flair, USB-A Flash Drive, Up to 150MB/s Read Speeds | USB Flash Drive, Up to 15x Faster than standard 2.0, Password Protection, Durable, Sleek Metal Casing, USB 3.0, Silver/Black
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
PNY 64GB Turbo Attaché 3 USB 3.0 Flash Drive 5-Pack | Up to 100MB/s Read, Grey, Lightweight, Sliding Collar, Durable, Data Storage and Transfer
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
PNY 128GB Turbo Attaché 3 USB 3.0 Flash Drive 5-Pack | Up to 100MB/s Read, Grey, Lightweight, Sliding Collar, Durable, Data Storage and Transfer
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon
2 Pack 64GB USB Flash Drive USB 2.0 Thumb Drives Jump Drive Fold Storage Memory Stick Swivel Design - Black
Included for 'Best USB Flash Drives: Ten Listings Compared by Interface, Capacity and Pack Size' as a representative home product in this roundup; selection reflects the product set returned for this topic.
View on Amazon| Model | Key points from the title | Price tier | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lexar D40E 128GB | Dual USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C, metal housing, swivel | Mid | Phone-to-PC copying, everyday carry |
| Lexar D40E 64GB | Same D40E design in a smaller capacity | Mid | Installer stick, document transport |
| SanDisk Ultra Flair 128GB | USB 3.0, up to 150MB/s read, password protection, metal casing | Mid | Large files on USB-A computers |
| SanDisk Ultra Flair 64GB | Same Flair design, 64GB | Budget | Value USB 3.0 stick |
| PNY Turbo Attaché 3 128GB 2-pack | USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read, sliding collar | Mid (2 drives) | Primary plus backup pair |
| PNY Turbo Attaché 3 64GB 5-pack | USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read, sliding collar | Premium (5 drives) | Classrooms, teams, events |
| PNY Turbo Attaché 3 128GB 5-pack | USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read, sliding collar | Premium (5 drives) | Heavy multi-user distribution |
| MECHEER 8GB 10-pack | USB 2.0, swivel design, indicator light | Mid (10 drives) | Giveaways, small file hand-outs |
| IMEASON 16GB keychain | USB 2.0, swivel, FAT32 format | Budget | Spare drive on a key ring |
| Maspen 64GB 2-pack | USB 2.0, fold-and-swivel body | Budget (2 drives) | Documents and photo backups |
What the spec labels on these drives actually mean
Flash drive titles mix interface labels, speed claims and capacity numbers, and each says something different. The table below translates the wording used across these ten listings.
| Label in the title | What it tells you | What to check on the listing |
|---|---|---|
| USB 2.0 | Interface ceiling of 480 Mbps; real copies are usually far slower than that | Fine for small files, slow for anything over a gigabyte |
| USB 3.0 / USB 3.2 Gen 1 | Same 5 Gbps interface class under two names; a ceiling, not a measured drive speed | Look for a stated read figure and any write figure |
| Up to 100MB/s or 150MB/s read | Best-case sequential read from the seller | Write speed is often lower and is rarely printed |
| Type-C versus Type-A | Connector shape, not speed | Whether the drive has one end or both |
| FAT32 format | Pre-formatted file system with a 4 GB single-file limit | Reformat to exFAT if you move large video or disc images |
| Password protection | Usually software-based, vendor-supplied | Supported operating systems; not a replacement for backups |
How these listings were chosen and checked
The basis for this guide is published specifications, manufacturer documentation and buyer reviews, read through for patterns in what the titles promise. Nobody on the team used or measured these units. Spec claims in titles are the seller’s claims, so anything the title does not state is marked as something to confirm on the listing.
The ten listings, one by one
Lexar D40E 128GB Dual USB-C Jump Drive
The title calls this a Dual USB 3.2 Gen 1 Type-C jump drive with a metal housing and a swivel design, finished in champagne silver. The Dual and USB-C Flash wording points to a stick meant for newer USB-C laptops and phones, but the title does not spell out the connector layout, so look at the listing photos before assuming a USB-A end is included. USB 3.2 Gen 1 describes a 5 Gbps interface class and not a measured drive speed, and no read or write figure is given.
At 128GB it suits a mixed load: a game-mod folder, a Windows installer plus drivers, and a photo archive. A swivel cover means no cap to lose, though a swivel stick can hang awkwardly from a laptop port, so an extension cable helps in tight setups.
Scenario: you edit a document on a phone and then need it on a desktop with no cloud sync in between. Ask before buying: does a listing photo show a USB-A end as well, and what read and write numbers does the manufacturer publish for this capacity?
Pros
- Type-C wording suits phones and modern laptops
- Metal housing and swivel cover protect the connector
- 128GB leaves room for mixed use
Cons
- No speed figures in the title
- Connector layout needs confirming
Lexar D40E 64GB Dual USB-C Jump Drive
This is the same D40E design in a 64GB size, with the identical metal housing, swivel body and Type-C wording in the title. What changes is headroom, and it is a good size for a boot stick, a folder of work documents or a weekend of phone photos moved to a PC. Capacity maths matters here: a 64GB label becomes roughly 59.6 GiB in Windows, and a modern operating system installer can take a noticeable bite out of that.
Flash chips in smaller capacities sometimes write more slowly than their larger siblings, though not in every product line, and the title gives no figures to settle it. If you will copy several tens of gigabytes at a time, the 128GB version above is the safer bet; for carrying a few gigabytes of files, this one saves money.
Scenario: a student who prints at a library carries essays and slides in one pocket. Ask before buying: will 64GB still be enough once an installer image and your own files share it, or is the 128GB step worth a small premium?
Pros
- Same build and connector story as the larger D40E
- Enough room for installers and documents
Cons
- Small usable capacity once formatted
- Near-duplicate of the 128GB listing, so decide on size alone
SanDisk Ultra Flair 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive
The Flair titles are the most specific in the set: up to 150MB/s read speeds, USB 3.0, a metal casing in silver and black, password protection, and a claim of being up to 15 times faster than standard 2.0. Treat that last number as marketing arithmetic, because it compares a best-case read figure with a rated ceiling. The 150MB/s figure is still a stronger promise than the 100MB/s on the PNY packs, and no write speed is listed.
This is a USB-A stick, so a USB-C-only laptop needs an adapter. The password feature is usually delivered through bundled software, which means it will not help on a console, a smart TV or a car stereo that simply mounts the drive. For a desktop gamer moving screenshots, mods and installers between two PCs, it is a sensible mid-priced option.
Scenario: moving a 25 GB mod folder from a laptop to a gaming desktop before a weekend session. Ask before buying: which operating systems does the password software support, and does the listing give a write speed anywhere?
Pros
- Highest quoted read speed in the set
- Metal casing and USB 3.0 interface
- Password protection mentioned
Cons
- USB-A only, per the title
- Write speed not stated
SanDisk Ultra Flair 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive
Take the 128GB Flair, halve the capacity and lower the price tier, and you get this listing. The title repeats the same up to 150MB/s read claim, metal casing and password protection, so the decision is purely one of space. It is the most affordable way into the faster USB 3.0 group in this roundup, which makes it the natural choice for someone upgrading from an old USB 2.0 stick without wanting to overpay.
It also works as a dedicated tool drive: keep a Windows or Linux installer on it, label it, and leave it in a drawer. Because a bootable installer image does not need speed after the initial write, the real benefit is that the initial flash and the later file copies will finish sooner than on a plain USB 2.0 stick.
Scenario: a tool stick holding a Windows installer, a driver folder and a few utilities for fixing a relative’s computer. Ask before buying: are you happy with USB-A only, given that newer laptops may need an adapter?
Pros
- Lowest-cost entry to the 150MB/s read class
- Metal casing
- Same feature set as the larger Flair
Cons
- 64GB fills fast with video or game files
- USB-A only
PNY Turbo Attaché 3 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, 2-Pack
The title lists a 2-pack of 128GB drives with USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read, a grey body and a sliding collar, which is a retractable sleeve that protects the connector. Whether each drive is 128GB or the pair shares that total is not perfectly clear in the wording, so confirm that before buying; the normal reading is 128GB each. The read claim is lower than the Flair listings, but a pair is the more practical purchase for backup habits.
Keep one drive as the working copy and the other as a dated clone you refresh monthly, and you have a simple two-copy system that costs little. The sliding collar cannot snag in a pocket the way an exposed connector can, but a plastic-bodied stick feels less robust than the metal drives above.
Scenario: one drive stays plugged into a desktop for work in progress while the other lives in a drawer holding last month’s copy. Ask before buying: does each drive hold 128GB, and are the two sticks identical?
Pros
- Two drives for a mid-tier listing total
- Sliding collar protects the connector
- USB 3.0 with a stated read speed
Cons
- Lower quoted speed than the Flair
- Capacity wording needs checking
PNY Turbo Attaché 3 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, 5-Pack
Five 64GB sticks in one listing make this the logical pick for a small team, a classroom, a repair shop or an event table. The title states USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read and a sliding collar, with no write speed. When all five are the same model, you can label them by person or by project and swap them without worrying that two drives behave differently.
Ordering five means the listing total sits in the premium tier even though the per-drive cost is moderate. If you need only one or two sticks, one of the smaller packs is a better use of money. If you are handing drives to customers, remember that bulk distribution calls for a quick format and a check that nothing private is left on the sticks.
Scenario: a coding club handing out starter files, or a repair shop returning recovered documents. Ask before buying: will you really use five drives, and do you have a quick way to erase and relabel them between jobs?
Pros
- Five identical drives for shared use
- Sliding collar design
- USB 3.0 interface
Cons
- High up-front total for personal use
- Plastic body is less rugged than metal
PNY Turbo Attaché 3 128GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive, 5-Pack
The same Turbo Attaché 3 family at its biggest pack and capacity, and the title gives the identical specification line: USB 3.0, up to 100MB/s read, grey body, sliding collar. It is the priciest listing in the roundup, so it needs a real job. Examples are a video team passing project folders between editors, a lab sharing datasets, or a LAN-party organiser preloading game installers for guests.
For a solo buyer the maths rarely works: five times 128GB is a lot of storage to keep track of, and a single external SSD would likely move big files more comfortably than a handful of thumb drives. Check once more that 128GB applies to each drive, because the pack wording is the kind that causes returns when it is read the wrong way.
Scenario: an organiser preloading an installer and a driver pack on every guest’s stick before a LAN event. Ask before buying: could one portable SSD plus a few smaller sticks cover the same need more neatly?
Pros
- Large capacity multiplied across five drives
- Uniform hardware simplifies group use
Cons
- Highest listing total in the set
- Overkill and clutter for a single user
MECHEER 8GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive, 10-Pack
Ten 8GB sticks with a swivel design and a status indicator, on the older USB 2.0 interface. This is bulk stationery rather than performance storage. The right jobs are giveaways and small document hand-outs.
At 8GB, each drive shows about 7.45 GiB, which is tight for a modern Windows installer image that often runs several gigabytes and is too small for most game mods. Sellers of bulk packs rarely print speed or controller details, so treat these as disposable and keep irreplaceable files on a better drive. They are a poor fit for a gaming PC owner who wants fast installers.
Scenario: a trainer giving every attendee a slide deck and a few PDFs with no expectation of getting the stick back. Ask before buying: is 8GB, shown as about 7.45 GiB, enough for the biggest file you will ever put on it?
Pros
- Ten drives in one listing
- Swivel body and indicator light
Cons
- USB 2.0 and 8GB are both limiting
- No speed or durability details in the title
IMEASON 16GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive with Keychain
A 16GB USB 2.0 stick with a swivel design, a keychain loop, and a FAT32 format noted in the title. The format detail is useful: FAT32 cannot hold a single file bigger than 4 GB, so video exports and disc images will fail to copy until you reformat to exFAT, which erases the drive. For documents, music and photos, FAT32 is the most widely compatible choice, including older TVs and car stereos.
This is the listing to buy when the job is simply having a spare stick on a key ring. It is also the lowest-priced entry, and a sensible one if you tend to lose drives. Do not expect brisk copies, and keep copies of anything you store on it.
Scenario: a spare stick that lives on your keys so you can print a document at a copy shop or move a boarding pass. Ask before buying: do any of your files exceed 4 GB, and would you be comfortable reformatting if they do?
Pros
- Lowest price tier in the set
- Keychain loop and swivel cover
- FAT32 works on many older devices
Cons
- USB 2.0 speeds
- 4 GB file-size limit until reformatted
Maspen 64GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive, 2-Pack
The title reads simply 2 Pack 64GB USB Flash Drive USB 2.0 with a fold and swivel design in black, and it does not say whether each drive is 64GB or the pack totals that. Assume each, but verify.
Where it makes sense is as a low-cost backup pair for documents, tax scans and family photos: one drive stays at home, one goes in a bag. The 64GB size is more useful than the 8GB and 16GB sticks, but the USB 2.0 interface means a 20 GB copy will take a while. If you routinely move large files, the 64GB SanDisk Flair sits in a similar price tier and belongs to the faster USB 3.0 class.
Scenario: a household keeps scanned paperwork on one stick and a duplicate at a relative’s home. Ask before buying: does the seller confirm 64GB per drive, and is there a return window if either stick reports the wrong size?
Pros
- Two 64GB drives at a budget tier
- Fold-and-swivel design with no loose cap
Cons
- USB 2.0 only
- No brand reputation or speed detail in the title
Which listing for which user
| If you are… | Start with | Why | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Moving files between a phone and a PC | Lexar D40E 128GB | Type-C wording and metal swivel body | Confirm the USB-A end |
| Copying big game or video files | SanDisk Ultra Flair 128GB | Highest quoted read speed | Write speed unknown |
| Wanting a simple two-copy backup | PNY 128GB 2-pack | Pair of USB 3.0 drives | Confirm capacity per drive |
| Equipping a team or classroom | PNY 64GB 5-pack | Identical drives, USB 3.0 | Wipe and label before hand-out |
| Giving away small files | MECHEER 8GB 10-pack | Lowest per-drive size and cost | 8GB limit, USB 2.0 speed |
| Needing something cheap on a key ring | IMEASON 16GB | Keychain loop, FAT32 compatibility | 4 GB file limit |
Worked example: how long does a 40 GB copy take?
Say you want to move a 40 GB game library (decimal gigabytes, so 40,000 MB) to a flash drive. Sustained write speed is the number that matters, and none of these titles state it, so the table uses three assumed rates. These are planning figures, not claims about any specific listing.
| Assumed sustained write rate | Calculation | Time for 40 GB | Typical class |
|---|---|---|---|
| 25 MB/s | 40,000 / 25 = 1,600 s | About 27 minutes | Slow USB 2.0 behaviour |
| 60 MB/s | 40,000 / 60 = 667 s | About 11 minutes | Mid-range USB 3.x write |
| 100 MB/s | 40,000 / 100 = 400 s | About 7 minutes | Best case near the quoted 100MB/s read |
Between the slowest and fastest assumed rates the gap is about 20 minutes on a single copy, which is why a USB 3.0 stick earns its place if you move big folders often. Capacity matters too, so here is how the labels convert once the computer reports them.
| Label | Calculation (bytes / 1,073,741,824) | Approx. shown by Windows |
|---|---|---|
| 8GB | 8,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 | 7.45 GiB |
| 16GB | 16,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 | 14.9 GiB |
| 64GB | 64,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 | 59.6 GiB |
| 128GB | 128,000,000,000 / 1,073,741,824 | 119.2 GiB |
Thumb drive or a dedicated external drive
A flash drive is the right tool for carrying files, not for living on. For a library over a few hundred gigabytes, or any drive you plan to leave connected, a portable SSD or hard drive is the better format, and a good USB cable matters there; our guide to the right USB cord for an external hard drive covers it. If you run short of ports for several drives, an external USB hub solves that. For a stick built around faster transfers, see the Corsair Flash Voyager GTX picks.
Mistakes buyers make and how to fix them
| Mistake | What goes wrong | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Buying on read speed alone | Write speed, which governs saving files, is often lower and unlisted | Read buyer comments for copy times before choosing |
| Assuming every pack is capacity each | A 2-pack or 5-pack may not mean what you think | Check the listing images and bullet points |
| Ignoring the port | A USB-A stick will not fit a USB-C-only laptop | Match connector to your computer or buy an adapter |
| Leaving FAT32 on a drive for big files | Files over 4 GB refuse to copy | Reformat to exFAT after backing up |
| Storing the only copy on a flash drive | Small drives are easy to lose and fail without warning | Keep a second copy elsewhere |
| Pulling the stick out mid-write | File system corruption | Use the safe-eject option |
Verdict by use case
For the best all-round balance, the SanDisk Ultra Flair 128GB has the strongest speed claim and a metal body, with the 64GB Flair as the value pick. If you need USB-C, the Lexar D40E 128GB is the one to read first. Teams should look at the PNY 5-packs and pairs, while the 8GB, 16GB and Maspen listings are for light-duty storage only. Whatever you choose, check the connector, the capacity wording and the pack contents on the listing before ordering.
Frequently asked questions
How much capacity do I really need on a USB flash drive?
For documents, photos and a Windows installer, 32GB to 64GB is usually comfortable. Game mods, large video exports or a portable Linux setup push many people to 128GB. Remember that a drive sold as 64GB shows roughly 59.6 GiB once your computer formats and reports it, so leave a margin instead of planning to fill the last gigabyte. A 128GB drive is a comfortable default if you carry game files or video.
Is a USB 3.0 flash drive worth it over USB 2.0?
If you move files larger than a few hundred megabytes, yes. USB 3.x raises the interface ceiling from 480 Mbps to 5 Gbps, and the listings that quote up to 100MB/s or 150MB/s reads are in a different league from plain USB 2.0 sticks. For tiny text files, the difference is hard to notice, so a cheap USB 2.0 stick is fine there. Check the listing for write speed too, since saving files is usually slower than reading them.
Can I use a USB-C flash drive on an older PC?
Only if the drive also has a USB-A connector or you add a small USB-C to USB-A adapter. The Lexar D40E titles say Dual and Type-C, which suggests two connector types, but confirm the photos on the listing show both before buying. Plain USB-A sticks cannot plug into a USB-C-only laptop without an adapter. Adapters are cheap, but they add bulk and one more thing to lose, so a native connector is neater.
Why does my new flash drive show less space than the label?
Manufacturers count a gigabyte as one billion bytes, while Windows reports in binary units that are about 7 percent larger. A 128GB drive therefore appears as roughly 119 GiB, and the file system takes a sliver more. This is normal and not a sign of a fake or faulty drive. If the shortfall is far bigger than that, ask the seller for help.
Is the password protection on some drives real encryption?
The SanDisk Ultra Flair titles mention password protection, which on drives of this class is typically provided by bundled software. Treat it as a convenience lock for casual privacy, check the listing for which operating systems the software supports, and keep an unencrypted backup of anything important elsewhere. Real encryption tools exist in the operating system and in third-party apps, and are the better choice for sensitive files.
Should I choose a multi-pack or a single drive?
Choose a multi-pack when you give drives away, run a classroom or want a labelled drive per project. Choose a single drive when you want one dependable stick you will keep for years. Read the title carefully, because pack wording sometimes leaves it unclear whether the stated capacity applies to each drive or to the whole set. Reading the bullet points and photos on the listing usually settles it.